Asexuals

Watching a documentary about asexuals on netflix. Unbelievably, as a homosexual,  I had no idea people actually identified as asexual. I want to believe they have some repressed desire, some morbid past, or that they are gay but do not want to admit it. However, I do not want to be judgemental.
Apparently, a lot of asexuals don’t even kiss. Though, some are in relationships. Even with “sexuals.” How does that work? I’m so confused!
Can asexuals fall in love?
They identify asexual as a sexual preference, but it is hard to not hate that very idea considering their sexual preference is just “no.”  Not no preference because that is bisexual. Just a solid “no.” Could it even be considered an orientation?
Asexuals want to be recognized in the LGBT community, what do you think?

If you want to watch the documentary, it is called (A)sexual directed by Angela Tucker. It was actually really good.

5 thoughts on “Asexuals

  1. I think it’s an orientation, being asexual myself. It’s not a ‘no’ per se, after all this documentary may have mentioned demisexuality, right? We can fall in love, just not in the conventional sense. It’s just non-sexual love, like when people say ‘let’s take this slow’ but just.. put it off altogether. I know it’s difficult for a lot of people to understand, but just because we don’t want sex, doesn’t mean we don’t have feelings.

  2. Oh, I definitely didn’t mean you have no feelings.. I just meant “damn” that’s a tough one to swallow mostly because I love sex 🙂 but I’m sure you get that a lot. Is kissing a part of your life?

    • I guess it is, ‘cept we just think ‘why the hell would you want sex when you can have perfectly good cake?’ 😛 Umm, not currently or yet? But I am only 16 so I guess that’s not too surprising.

  3. Well I really am intrigued… the documentary went into the cake thing… funny thing, I’m not much of a cake person so I don’t even get the reference 🙂 have you seen this documentary?

    • Well, if you ever want to know more you can contact me on my blog 🙂 Oh it did? Yeah, I’m not that much of a fan, I prefer apple crumble 😛 I think it’s supposed to be like ‘ice cream for break ups, cake if you’re ace!’ No I haven’t, don’t have a very good internet connection or an account or access to netflix. I’m not really interested in watching it anyway to be honest.

Leave a comment